When you're done developing the features in a workspace, move the features to production by publishing the workspace.
You can only publish a workspace if all the modifications are active.
Publishing a workspace clears the workspace of all features. The workspace is not removed, so you can reuse it for other features.
To publish a workspace:
Make sure that each modification is active. In the modifications list, inactive modifications are grayed out.
To activate an inactive modification:
To return to the workspace, click the workspace ID.
In the Actions menu, select Publish workspace.
For each feature (except a template) that is based on an existing feature in production:
Templates based on existing templates in production automatically overwrite the original production templates, unless you rename the workspace templates before publication, in which case the publication creates new templates in production. (Templates must have unique names.)
If a feature has changed in production after it was added to the workspace, you can toggle a side-by-side comparison between the production and workspace versions. The production version is shown on the left and the workspace version on the right. The comparison shows the JSON objects representing the feature. Lines where the two versions differ are highlighted.
You have published the workspace, and the features are now in production. New modifications are deactivated. Modifications that overwrote existing modifications have the same state as the original modification. To show the deactivated modifications to visitors, activate them. For more information, see Activating and deactivating the modification.
If you add an existing feature from production to a workspace, and if the original production feature is removed before the workspace is published, the association between the production and workspace features is broken. You cannot publish the workspace until you explicitly remove this association. After you remove the association, you can publish the feature as a new production feature.
If you add an existing modification from production to a workspace, and if the original production modification is deactivated before the workspace is published, workspace preview mode will not display the modification. You also cannot publish the workspace while the production modification remains deactivated. To preview the workspace modification, or to publish the workspace, you need to either reactivate the production modification or remove the association between the production and workspace modifications. If you remove the association, you can only publish the modification as a new production modification.
To remove the association, click Resolve for the workspace feature.