Pages

You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

« Previous Version 2 Next »

If you're not already familiar with modifications and how to create them in the Control Panel, see Creating modifications.

You can develop modifications in a workspace:

Creating a new modification in a workspace

To create a modification in a workspace:

  1. Enter the workspace.
  2. Click the quick menu button for Modifications, and select Create modification.

    Creating a new modification in a workspace

  3. Enter a descriptive name for the modification, and select the modification type.
  4. If you want to place 10% of your audience in a comparison group that will not see the modification, select Enable comparison group. This allows you to monitor the performance of the modification as compared to your original content. If the comparison group is enabled, a tracking variation is automatically created for the modification.
  5. Click Create.

Adding existing modifications to a workspace

When you add an existing modification from production to a workspace, the Control Panel creates a duplicate of the modification and places the duplicate in the workspace. In production, the original modification remains unaffected and continues to display to visitors as before. Editing the workspace modification does not affect the original production modification.

When you preview the workspace modification, all events tracked for the modification, including basic events and custom events, are associated with the workspace modification and not the original production modification. For more information about these events, see Modification statistics.

To access the original production modification for a workspace modification, click Original ID: <ID> in the modifications list.

Accessing the original production modification

When you publish the workspace, you can choose to either overwrite the production modification with the workspace version or create a new production modification from the workspace version.

To add existing modifications to a workspace:

  1. Enter the workspace.
  2. Click the quick menu button for Modifications, and select Add existing modifications.

    Adding existing modifications to a workspace

  3. Select the modifications you want to add to the workspace, and click Add. You can filter the modifications by typing the modification ID or name in the search field.

    Adding existing modifications to a workspace

Editing a modification in a workspace

Once you've created a new modification or added an existing modification to a workspace, you can start developing the modification.

To edit the modification:

  1. Enter the workspace.
  2. In the modifications list, click the name of the modification you want to edit.

    You can access the different modification settings directly through the Edit options in the quick menu.

  3. Edit the modification settings. You can edit the content and display options for the modification, as well as the product recommendation options if the modification is a recommendation, and you can rename the modification. Remember to save your changes on each settings tab.
  4. To return to the workspace, click the workspace ID.

    Returning from modification settings to the workspace

Removing a modification from a workspace

Removing a modification from a workspace deletes that modification. Any edits you've made to the modification in the workspace are lost. If the modification is based on an existing modification in production, the original modification is not affected in any way.

To remove a modification from a workspace:

  1. Enter the workspace.
  2. In the modifications list, click the quick menu button for the modification you want to remove, and select Remove.

    Removing a modification from a workspace

  3. In the confirmation prompt, click Remove.