When you're done developing the features in a workspace, move the features to production by publishing the workspace.
You can only publish a workspace if all the modifications are active.
Resolving conflicts between production and workspace features
If you add an existing feature from production to a workspace, and if the original production feature is removed before the workspace is published, the association between the production and workspace features is broken. You cannot publish the workspace until you explicitly remove this association. After you remove the association, you can publish the feature as a new production feature.
If you add an existing modification from production to a workspace, and if the original production modification is deactivated before the workspace is published, workspace workspace preview mode will not display the modification. You also cannot publish the workspace while the production modification remains deactivated. To preview the workspace modification, or to publish the workspace, you need to either reactivate the production modification or remove the association between the production and workspace modifications. If you remove the association, you can only publish the modification as a new production modification.